Carpe Diem

I had my very first authentic burrito during my stay in Edinburgh.. and boy, was that the best burrito ever?! Hell yeah… I fell in love with the dish right away and couldn’t have enough of it…

A few days later, I was in Wimbledon, wandering around the streets and scouting for a good place to hog.. I stopped by at this really good looking Mexican joint and my mouth watered purely with the thought of relishing yet another awesome burrito. But guess what, when I had this one, I didn’t like it at all.. I left it after a few bites and almost got mad at the chef for not making it how I thought it would be… my benchmark was that one restaurantΒ in Edinburgh! So I walked out of this cafe, sulking and hungry!

In retrospect, I think I didn’t give it a fair chance. I passed a verdict at the very first bite and never thought that it could taste better after a few more..

Such is life… very few people get second chances at things they truly want. There have been a few significant instances in my life where I missed the first chance..

I was a little girl when my dad suffered a heart attack and we lost him.. do I remember my last chat with him… maybe not… but I wish I had hugged him close, the night before that dreadful day..

15 years later, I started my career by moving out of my comfort zone, in a city where I barely knew anyone. I went there with the gusto of a freedom fighter and the thought of pursuing my dreams. Sadly half of my time in that city went in catching up with the new life and the other half, in sulking over things that I had no control over..

Today when I am in the busiest phase of my life so far, I often find myself missing the solitude and perks of that time when I lived alone… truly alone! Would I get those days back again? Probably not… Do I wish I would have lived them differently rather than the way I did.. probably yes!

While those days largely comprise of who I am today (and that isn’t remotely close to that girl who moved into that city with her big as hell suitcase and bigger dreams), I wish I could give them a second chance and not beat myself up so much..

So here’s to seizing the day and many more burritos!

cd

Love!

About Anisha

Dreamy...floaty...fire...desire!
This entry was posted in Personal, Post a day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Carpe Diem

  1. curioushart says:

    A burrito in Edinburgh? Amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lwbut says:

    Scotland has a pretty unique idea of Haute Cuisine!!! πŸ˜‰ Was the burrito deep fried or covered in chocolate??

    Love the Erma Bombeck quote – spot on! πŸ™‚

    love.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anisha says:

      It was deep fried and not in chocolate…but super spicy…just the way i like my food! thanks for dropping by πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • lwbut says:

        HAH! πŸ˜€ my question was really tongue-in-cheek, joking about the Scots passion for a deep frier – i did not actually think they did deep fry a burrito!!! Now i know better – thanks! and you’re most welcome. πŸ™‚

        love.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Anisha says:

    So was mine….guess we need a funny font! πŸ˜€ it was great though….do try it someday! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. When living in Edinburgh I lived right next to Viva Mexico. That and Pancho Villa were among my favorite haunts. I now wonder which one had the burrito you mention!

    As for second chances, there is this Greek saying, “experience is the hairbrush you get when you lose all your hair.”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. robertcday says:

    That was a lovely post. I don’t know what it is about your writing, but it is eminently readable. I’ve never had a burrito, and I wouldn’t know what one would look like if it bit me on my little finger, but I want one now!
    Kindness – Robert.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Anju says:

    You r such a strong girl. Love u my genius .

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Author Interview – Katie Salidas – “The Immortalis”, “Olde Town Pack”, “Little Werewolf” & RONE Award Winning “Chronicles of the Uprising” (Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance & Horror) | tooful

Leave a Reply

