Conquering fears

We all have a few words that we hear and no matter the surroundings, the feelings those words garner, will be unique…I too have a few such words, one of the being climbing… I can say this with utmost surety that no matter what, climbing will mean just one thing to me and that is Edinburgh! Yepp…sounds weird I know…

So the thing is that, I am acrophobic. Okay let’s face it, I have a lot of phobias.. height, water, enclosed spaces, ceiling fans (do not judge me here… ) are a few of them… anyway, acrophobia tops my list.. Last year when I was in Edinburgh, I didn’t know that my leisurely-I-want-to-pamper-myself vacation is going to end up being the one where I have done the most walking and climbing. As beautiful as that city is, the landscape had me breathless (literally).

This was about the same time, when my new found passion of “Fitness” had just dawned upon me. So I was not in the best of my shape but my spirits were soaring. On my very first day in Edinburgh, while dragging a huge set of suitcases (hubby dearest was clearly doing most of the dragging, while I was trying to navigate) we ended up in front of a long long staircase. Apparently that was what Google maps thought was the best route to get to my apartment (not so much though). So here I was….

Best Route (as per GPS)

The next day we went to see the Arthur’s Seat (the highest, most beautiful peak in Edinburgh). We had no plans to hike or trek and hence were not geared up in the most appropriate attire or shoes. However, on seeing the peak from a distance, a certain sense of adrenaline pumped down my spine and the next minute, I was on my way climbing up the peak.

Going up wasn’t as difficult as I thought and I managed to take decent breaks in between to admire the view while ensuring I don’t look down. Once on top, the feeling was beyond my imagination. A sense of exhilarating freedom and victory. Though it wasn’t that high and most people I know would do that for a normal morning jog. But it meant a whole lot of stuff to me. I partly overcame my fear of heights..

My only regret was not carrying a bottle of wine to enjoy the view up there.

Who knows, maybe next time!

P.S. I’ll skip the part where I was petrified to death while going down. So much so, that at one point I almost considered wrapping myself in a thick jacket and rolling down the hill, since that was the only way I thought I could have managed.

Love!

About Anisha

Dreamy...floaty...fire...desire!
This entry was posted in Post a day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Conquering fears

  1. mumsthewordblog1 says:

    Don’t you just love google maps! 😃🐻

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TanGental says:

    Great city. Was it during the festival? If not try then. It’s incredible
    ..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. celtics345 says:

    Great post I used to be scared to death of this bridge because under it were cars making noises not good for someone with anxiety. I used to walk longer to catch the bus someplace else bc I didn’t want to cross the bridge but I overcame that. I get nervous on the 2nd floor of malls fear of falling. But I still go one there. Lol they have to put the best stores up on the 2nd floor lol. I also can’t swim or drive but its due to heavy meds.

    Like

  4. kinkyacres says:

    Very nice story! The pictures were also very nice! However, reading of your personal attack on the “phobia” dragon was by far the best to me! Great job!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Anju says:

    Very nice dear. Many people will inspire from your post that how to overcome of phobias. It’s a matter of will power and the way we think. Pics also very lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dave says:

    Well done for overcoming your fear of heights 🙂
    ‘Arthur’s seat’ was once a volcano, so you are a brave lass !
    I live outside Edinburgh and went to university there.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. johncoyote says:

    Beautiful photos and thank you for taking me with you on this walk. We need to discover beautiful places.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Awesome city. Is it true that it was amid the celebration? If not attempt then. It’s mind boggling..

    Liked by 1 person

  9. robertcday says:

    What! You were in Edinburgh! That’s just up the road from me (I’m in York). Did you enjoy (apart from all the climbing)? 🙂
    Kindness – Robert.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Alok Singhal says:

    The view up there is magnificent…I won’t mind walking up to the summit.

    I am not afraid of heights though, unless I am on a cliff (which I try not to anyway).

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Nice BLOG ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I have acrophobia too, Anisha, and I agree completely: going back down is much worse than going up. I climbed the steps of a huge pyramid at Teotihuacan just outside of Mexico City. Going up had me shaking but when I turned to see the view and looked down I froze. I had to have a friend hold my arm almost all the way down or I’d still be up there!
    Your travel stories are wonderful.
    With admiration, Rich

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Great Read! Love the name of your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

